The term ‘Lulav’ is used to refer to all of the green elements. (Technically, the middle branch is the lulav.) As with the six sides of the sukkah, these relate to the six dimensions of space. The lulav and etrog are shaken in these directions. (Check out this kid …


The six parts of the lulav with the etrog correlate to the seven Ushpizin. They in turn relate to characteristics (called ‘middot’) that are part of the ‘Image of G-d’ we are created in.

The six relate to several concepts such as these:

Myrtle/Hadassim (3 pieces)

  • Abraham = Chesed/Mercy, to the South
  • Isaac = Gevurah/Judgment, to the North
  • Jacob = Tiferet/Beauty in Harmony, to the East

Willow/Aravot (2 pieces)

  • Moses = Netzach/proactive/initiating, toward the sky
  • Aaron = Hod/reactive/reflective, toward the ground

Palm Branch/Lulav (1 piece)

  • Joseph = Yesod/Foundation, Connection, to the West

The six green components function as one ‘unit’ and reflect the ‘masculine’ aspect of the Image of G-d. (Gen 1:27). The etrog, the seventh, relates to the feminine aspect. When shaken, ‘the lulav is taken in the right hand, the etrog in the left, and they are ‘brought together’ and shaken together under the ‘canopy’ of the sukkah, reflective of a spiritual marriage theme.

<< Back to Themes